Return to HDA home page HDA Message Board
HDA About the HDA HDA What is HD HDA Juvenile HD HDA Children & Young People HDA Professionals HDA Resources HDA Research HDA HDA News HDA Events HDA Contact the HDA HDA Home Page

Outside of office hours if you need someone to speak to you can phone the Samaritans on 116 123

Go Back   HDA Message Board > Message Board Categories > Young People

Young People For young people under the age of 35 to share experiences, information and ideas

Old 17-01-16, 07:31 PM   #1
Zynx_
Approved Member

Default Dating issues

Hi,

This is my first time posting here as I'm struggling to know what I should do at the minute and am in need of some advice.

I have been in my current relationship for 4 months and, whilst having an off day, ended up telling my boyfriend about HD being in my family (I am at risk). He has reacted badly to the news, firstly becoming very upset and then questioning whether he wants to be in a relationship with me at all because of the worries he would have for the future.

It's now been a week since I told him, after continuous fighting and supporting him I'm no closer to understanding why he is feeling the way he is towards the situation. His main worry has been about his ability to support me in the future - I have told him that this is something which requires a lot of thought and cannot be decided only a week after finding out. Clearly his head is not in a 'rational thinking' state and I am struggling to make him see sense in any of this. I am trying to make him think more positively, encouraging him to believe that he can get through these worries but this is just met by very negative responses about how he knows how he's going to feel.